When seen from the time of revealing, Qur’anic verses are divided into two types, namely the Makkiyyah verses and Madaniyyah verses.

First, Makkiyyah verses revealed in Mecca or before the Prophet Muhammad hijrah (migrated) to Medina. The Makkiyyah verses, covering 19/30 of the contents of the Qur’an and consist of 86 chapters.

Meanwhile the second is the Madaniyyah verses, these are verses revealed in Madinah or after the Prophet Muhammad migrated to Medina. Madaniyyah verses, covering 11/30 of the contents of the Qur’an and consists of 28 chapters.

In addition to the two names above the scholars also categorize and name the letters in the Koran based on the length and shortness of the chapter. Then from that if the division is based on this category, four names will appear as follows;

Assab’uththiwaal, meaning; seven long chapters, namely: Al Baqarah, Ali Imran, An Nisaa ‘, Al A’raaf, Al An’aam, Al Maa-idah and Yunus.

Al Miuun, meaning; chapters containing approximately one hundred more verses such as: Hud, Yusuf, Mu’min and so on.

Al Matsaani, containing fewer than a hundred verses such as: Al Anfaal. Al Hijr and so on.

Al Mufashshal, meaning short letters. such as: Adhdhuha, Al Ikhlas, Al Falaq, An Nas, and so on.

The four names above are actually well-known in the Qur’an study circles, but knowledge like this also needs to be known by Muslim society in general, even though he is not a Qur’anic reviewer.

Wallahu Allam


Source: Al-Qur’an al kariim wa tarjamatu ma’anihi ila al lughah al indunisiyah (1971).

This article is available in Indonesian

Leave a Response